A parent reported that their student had no complaints after living in East and then West, and preferred West.
Read the original sourceSouth Campus / University residence hall
Jester West Hall
201 East 21st Street, Austin, TX 78705 · Furnished
Quick facts
- Address
- 201 East 21st Street, Austin, TX 78705
- 2026–27 rooms
- Double room · Community Bath · $14,937
- Double room · Connecting Bath · $15,884
- Single room · Community Bath · $16,808
- Premium single · Private Bath · $20,352
- Double room · Private Bath · $15,884
- Triple room · Private Bath · $15,884
- Meal plan
- Unlimited dining-hall entry plus $400 Dine In Dollars per term. UT meal-plan details
- Nearest dining hall
- J2 Dining, about 400 feet away by an estimate from map locations. Check the actual walking route. Dining-hall details
- Official hall page
- Floor plans and virtual tours from UT
Property details checked 2026-10-22. Published prices are not availability confirmations. Personal quotes and budget scenarios are separate from official rate observations.
Fall + spring total, per person
Plan: Single room · community bath · 2026-27
Contract price. Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills.
What does this price include?
The contract covers its stated term and inclusions. Check dining, break access and any extra charges. This is a per-person price; check the exact bedroom and bathroom.
Utilities. Published scope includes room, meal plan, internet and common laundry. The sources inspected do not separately itemize electricity and water; obtain the contract scope before removing the utility allowance.
Use the contract total and its payment plan. The monthly equivalent is for comparison.
Check UT’s room, meal plan and billing details for your year.
UT dorm eligibility. UT does not require students to live on campus. Incoming first-time freshmen get contract priority; offers to other students depend on space and application date. Check UT’s housing priorities · Campus housing FAQ.
Rate observations
| Plan | Published payment | Basis / term |
|---|---|---|
| Double room · community bath | $14,937.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Double room · connecting bath | $15,884.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Single room · community bath | $16,808.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Premium single · community bath · source conflict | Not publishedPrice not posted · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | 9-month comparison equivalent; not monthly billing · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Premium single · private bath | $20,352.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. Latest check 26 Oct 2026: rate unavailable | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Double room · private bath | $15,884.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
| Triple room · private bath | $15,884.00Contract package · Utilities: confirm included services and extra bills. | Fall + spring total · per person · entire fall + spring contract · 2026-27 |
Inclusions & conditions
Published scope includes room, meal plan, internet and common laundry. The sources inspected do not separately itemize electricity and water; obtain the contract scope before removing the utility allowance.
UT student housing; incoming first-time freshmen are prioritized, and contracts depend on available space and housing application date.
- Separate hall from Jester East although both use 201 East 21 st Street.
- Accessible accommodations, common laundry, study rooms and movable furniture are listed.
- The 2026–27 rates are subject to review and final approval. Applicable sales tax is excluded.
- The published fall-and-spring total is not twelve monthly payments and does not establish uninterrupted nine-month access.
- No 2027–28 room price is inferred from these 2026–27 observations. The official housing quiz marks 2027–28 rates as to be determined.
- Application-process reference: $100 nonrefundable housing application fee, waived if the admission application fee was waived; $300 prepayment is credited against the housing bill and may be deferred. These are not automatically added to an older-year contract scenario.
- Payment choices include paying the contract in full, by term at no added charge, or in six installments for $50 extra per term; card payments have a 2.3% convenience fee. Confirm the actual bill and contract.
- Most residence halls close over winter break; San Jacinto break housing may require a separate contract and extra charge. Plan for the closure rather than assuming continuous access.
- Applicable sales tax is additional and has not been calculated.
- Exact move-in, move-out and winter-break access dates require the selected contract.
- Electricity and water charge scope is not separately itemized on the sources inspected.
- Current application/prepayment obligations, waivers and any prior payment must be confirmed for the selected contract; payment-plan and card fees depend on choices.
Every researched option at this property
7 plan & term options
| Plan / room | Published price | Term & space | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Double room · community bathshared · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $14,937.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-26 |
| Double room · connecting bathshared · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $15,884.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-26 |
| Single room · community bathprivate · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $16,808.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-26 |
| Premium single · community bath · source conflictprivate · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | Not published9-month comparison equivalent; not monthly billing | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-22 |
| Premium single · private bathprivate · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $20,352.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-22 |
| Double room · private bathshared · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $15,884.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-26 |
| Triple room · private bathshared · per person · entire fall + spring contract Not independently confirmed | $15,884.00Fall + spring total | 2026-272026–27 fall + spring; nine-month comparison period Unit area unverified | Official source Official source Observed 2026-10-26 |
All 7 researched options. Prices are observations, not inventory.
Beyond the rent
Get another perspective.
Read dated experiences, then check the original record. A resident report and a city case answer different questions.
Resident reports & reviews
1 selected observation from 1 source. These are anecdotal reports, not a representative survey.
City complaint-case history
1 city case matches the researched postal address since 2016-01-01. A complaint does not establish a violation, and a closed case does not certify a repair.
This postal address is shared by multiple housing records; the case may concern another part of the site.
Inspect cases & address scopeThe details before you commit
Questions worth answering.
7 supplemental source observations researched for Jester West Hall. Each keeps its own source, lease-year scope and observation date.
What are the guarantor’s income, age and credit requirements?
Applicants under 18 need a guarantor aged 18 or older to sign the housing contract.
No income or credit threshold is established here.
Lease year not stated · Observed
Read the evidence · scope warning
UHD residence-hall future-resident FAQThis page is cited for several statements. Read it for the question above.
Official residence-hall-wide policy; exact hall applicability is constrained to the 14 existing canonical hall profiles. Website/inspection date does not establish a contract year. Excludes Dobie Twenty21, 2400 Nueces, University Apartments and graduate apartments.
Accessed 2026-10-24T21:07:07.271525ZHow are roommates and room assignments made, and what is guaranteed?
Signed contract holders can form roommate groups from February. A group’s earliest selection slot may assign available space. Late and supplemental contracts do not guarantee roommate preference.
Confirm the selected application cycle and available room.
Lease year not stated · Observed
Read the evidence · scope warning
UHD residence-hall future-resident FAQThis page is cited for several statements. Read it for the question above.
Official residence-hall-wide policy; exact hall applicability is constrained to the 14 existing canonical hall profiles. Website/inspection date does not establish a contract year. Excludes Dobie Twenty21, 2400 Nueces, University Apartments and graduate apartments.
Accessed 2026-10-24T21:07:07.271525ZIs parking guaranteed, assigned, tandem or in another building?
The housing contract excludes parking; UT Parking and Transportation Services manages it separately.
No permit, space, price or garage is guaranteed.
Lease year not stated · Observed
Read the evidence · scope warning
UHD residence-hall future-resident FAQThis page is cited for several statements. Read it for the question above.
Official residence-hall-wide policy; exact hall applicability is constrained to the 14 existing canonical hall profiles. Website/inspection date does not establish a contract year. Excludes Dobie Twenty21, 2400 Nueces, University Apartments and graduate apartments.
Accessed 2026-10-24T21:07:07.271525ZWhat are my options after the last bus or during academic breaks?
These halls close over winter break. Residents cannot reenter until spring reopening; an additional paid San Jacinto break contract may be requested.
Confirm the selected contract, dates, fee and approval.
Lease year not stated · Observed
Read the evidence · scope warning
UHD residence-hall future-resident FAQThis page is cited for several statements. Read it for the question above.
Official residence-hall-wide policy; exact hall applicability is constrained to the 14 existing canonical hall profiles. Website/inspection date does not establish a contract year. Excludes Dobie Twenty21, 2400 Nueces, University Apartments and graduate apartments.
Accessed 2026-10-24T21:07:07.271525ZPublished statements describe what the source says. Your exact room, current agreement, screening result and any conditional charge still need confirmation.
Original city evidence
Trace the address.
1 issued-permit records matched the disclosed address queries since 2016-01-01. City data updated 2026-10-22.
Inspect state elevator inventory
Permits can describe retail work or only part of a site. Multiple trades can describe one project. Status does not establish present conditions, violations or occupancy clearance. Shared addresses and parcels do not establish shared ownership.
Go to the evidence.
Check the exact plan, lease year and every required charge with the operator.
Official property source Report a correction- Jester West Hall: official room options and 2026–27 contract rates Checked
- UT residence-hall rates: 2026–27 fall and spring contracts Checked
- UT incoming residence-hall application and contract FAQ Checked
- UT residence-hall furnishings, laundry and permitted belongings Checked
- UT catalog: university-housing eligibility and hall communities Checked
- UT housing selection quiz: dated room-level rate cross-check Checked